

## **Security Council Subsidiary Bodies**

**Standing Committees** 

**Committee of Experts** 

First meeting 1946 Inactive since 1987

**Committee on Admission of New Member States** 

[resolution 6 (1946)] Inactive since 2011

Committee on Meetings away from UN Headquarters

Inactive since 1973

**Expert Groups** (not official subsidiary bodies)

Informal Expert Group on **Protection of Civilians in Armed** Conflict

Chair: UK

Informal Expert Group on Women, Peace and Security Chair: UAE and Switzerland

Informal Expert Group on **Climate Change Security** 

Chair: UAE, Switzerland and Mozambique

**Subsidiary Bodies** (broadly defined)

**Peacekeeping Operations** 

Political Missions/ **Good Offices** 

**Ad-Hoc Committees** 

692 United Nations **Compensation Committee** [UNCC] (1991)

1373 Counter-Terrorism Committee [CTC] (2001) Chair: UAE

1540 Weapons of Mass **Destruction Committee (2004)** Chair: Ecuador

Group of Experts 1

**Advisory Subsidiary Body** 

**Peacebuilding Commission** [PBC]

P5 plus 2 elected members

**Ad Hoc International Tribunals** 

International Residual **Mechanism for Criminal** Tribunals (IRMCT)

[resolution 1966 (2010)]

**Joint Comprehensive** Plan of Action Facilitator: Malta

**Charter-Mandated Subsidiary Body** 

Military Staff Committee [MSC]

Only Permanent Members

**Working Groups** 

**Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations** Chair: Ghana

**Working Group on Resolution** 1566

Chair: UAE

Working Group on Children and **Armed Conflict** 

Chair: Malta

Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and **Resolution in Africa** Chair: Mozambique

Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other **Procedural Questions** Chair: Albania

Informal Working Group on International Tribunals Chair: Gabon

**Sanctions Committees** 

Al-Shabaab Sanctions Committee

Resolution 751 (1992) and resolution 1907 (2009) Chair: Japan

Panel of Experts 1

1267/1989/2253 ISIL [Da'esh] and Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee (1999, 2011, 2015)

Chair: Malta

1988 Afghanistan Sanctions Committee (2011)

Chair: Ecuador

**Monitoring Team** 

1518 Iraq Sanctions Committee (2003)

Chair: Albania

1533 Democratic Republic of the Congo Sanctions Committee (2003)

1636 Lebanon Sanctions Committee (2005)

1970 Libya Sanctions Committee (2011)

Chair: Gabon

Chair: Albania

Chair: Japan

**Group of Experts**  $ext{ } ext{ } e$ 

1591 Sudan Sanctions Committee (2005)

Chair: Ghana

Panel of Experts 1

1718 Democratic People's Republic of Korea Sanctions Committee (2006)

Chair: Switzerland

Panel of Experts 1

2048 Guinea-Bissau Sanctions Committee (2012)

Chair: UAE

2140 Yemen Sanctions Committee (2014)

Chair: Albania

2127 Central African Republic Sanctions Committee (2013)

Chair: Ghana

Panel of Experts 1

2206 South Sudan Sanctions Committee (2015)

Chair: Gabon

Panel of Experts 1

Panel of Experts 1

2653 Haiti Sanctions Committee (2022)

Chair: Gabon

Panel of Experts 1

Last updated on 20 November 2023